The Committee for Economic Development of The Conference Board (CED) uses cookies to improve our website, enhance your experience, and deliver relevant messages and offers about our products. Detailed information on the use of cookies on this site is provided in our cookie policy. For more information on how CED collects and uses personal data, please visit our privacy policy. By continuing to use this Site or by clicking "OK", you consent to the use of cookies.OK


2005 Annual Dinner

This year's Awards Dinner, attended by 320 business and policy leaders, was highlighted by the presentation of CED's distinguished performance awards to several individuals committed to issues in the interest of the public good and dedicated to the highest standards of ethics. For 2005, the CED awardees are:

  • Jeffrey R. Immelt and the General Electric Company. Jeffrey Immelt is the Chairman and CEO of the General Electric Company and the 2005 recipient of CED's inaugural Peter G. Peterson Award of Business Statesmanship. Mr. Immelt has dedicated himself and GE to sound corporate governance and has championed issues in the public interest. He personally serves on the boards of Catalyst, an organization devoted to advancing women in business, and Robin Hood, a non-profit organization focused on addressing poverty in New York City. The General Electric Company received CED's Corporate Citizenship Award for "its commitment to integrity and excellence."
  • Hugh B. Price, a CED Trustee and Senior Advisor, DLA Piper Rudnick Gray Cary US LLP, is CED's Excellence in Public Policy Awardee. Mr. Price has dedicated his career and life to public policy, championing those with the greatest needs. He has excelled in several positions over the years, including as President of the Urban League and Senior Vice President at WNET-TV in New York, the nation's largest public television station.
  • The Concord Coalition: Bob Kerrey, former Senator; Peter G. Peterson, former U.S. Secretary of Commerce; Warren Rudman, former Senator; and Paul E. Tsongas, the late former Senator. The Concord Coalition is the 2005 CED Public Policy Leadership Award recipient. The Concord Coalition, founded in 1992 by Peter Peterson, Warren Rudman, and Paul Tsongas has had a distinguished history of advocating fiscal responsibility while ensuring Social Security, Medicare, and Medicaid are secure for all generations. CED has been proud to partner with The Concord Coalition on several issues, including ways to lower the federal budget deficit and Social Security reform. Bob Kerry and Peter Peterson, who is also CED's longest-serving Trustee, were in New York City to accept the award at the Friday, May 13th, Annual Meeting Luncheon.
  • The first 2005 Trustee Leadership Award recipient is William "Bill" Lewis. Bill Lewis is Chair of CED's Program Committee and active in many of CED's issue areas. Mr. Lewis is Director Emeritus of the McKinsey Global Institute. His service in government includes stints as Acting Secretary of Energy, and Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense. CED is proud to honor Bill Lewis for his "exceptional leadership as a CED Trustee and for his many contributions to our policy research, programming, and governance."
  • Frank Doyle is also the recipient of a 2005 Trustee Leadership Award. Mr. Doyle is the retired Vice President of the General Electric Company, and served as CED's Chairman from 1996 to 2002. He had a distinguished career at GE and was noted for his skill in labor-management relations. At CED, Mr. Doyle ushered in a period of growth and expansion for the organization. He helped focus CED's mission, strengthened our leadership, and enhanced development and recruitment efforts. Frank Doyle has been an exceptional CED leader and greatly deserving of the Trustee Leadership Award.

The Gala Award Dinner audience heard remarks from each of awardees, including thoughts on improving corporate governance from GE's Jeffrey Immelt. The CED Business Statesmanship Award had been renamed in Peter G. Peterson's honor and Mr. Peterson was on hand to present the award to Mr. Immelt.

2005 Award Recipients

Hugh Price
Senior Advisor
DLA Piper Rudnick Gray Cary US LLP

Jeffrey Immelt
Chairman and CEO
General Electric Company