The Committee for Economic Development of The Conference Board (CED) uses cookies to improve our website, enhance your experience, and deliver relevant messages and offers about our products. Detailed information on the use of cookies on this site is provided in our cookie policy. For more information on how CED collects and uses personal data, please visit our privacy policy. By continuing to use this Site or by clicking "OK", you consent to the use of cookies.OK


2006 Annual Dinner

Each year CED honors "the best in business thinking" by honoring companies and their leaders for outstanding contributions to public policy. For 2006, CED honored three prominent business leaders:

The Coca-Cola Company and Neville Isdell, Chairman, Board of Directors, and CEO of Coca-Cola, were honored with the 2006 CED Distinguished Performance Award for Corporate Citizenship. The leadership of The Coca-Cola Company has made a commitment to improving the communities in which it operates and CED applauds the company for its unwavering commitment to integrity and leadership.

CED's 2006 Peter G. Peterson Award for Business Statesmanship was presented to Andrea Jung, Chairman and CEO, Avon Products, Inc. In her role as CEO, Andrea Jung has created a work environment that fosters work-life balance and Avon has created opportunity for millions of women around the world. Ms. Jung is one of the most respected business leaders in America and she is committed to corporate philanthropy and to creating a workplace that encourages employees to reach their full potential.

James D. Robinson III, Co-founder and General partner, RRE Ventures, and Former Chairman and CEO, American Express Company, was honored at the CED dinner with the 2006 CED Trustee Leadership Award. Jim Robinson is a long-time CED Trustee and has led efforts to improve trade for both the United States and our trading partners. Mr. Robinson is Chair of CED's Subcommittee on Trade and has presided over the last two major CED trade reports.

Following the Annual Dinner, CED hosted a breakfast forum featuring remarks from noted author Daniel Yankelovich. Mr. Yankelovich, author of the soon-to-be released book, Profit with Honor: The New Stage of Market Capitalism, argued that attempting to use more laws and regulations to deal with the flawed ethical climate that has permeated some American businesses will not succeed. Instead, through case histories, he showed how many business leaders can build new social and ethical norms that incorporate both profitability and stewardship.

Many consider Mr. Yankelovich to be the founder of modern public opinion research, and his is also an experienced member of the corporate boardroom. He is Co-Founder and Chairman of Public Agenda, established the public opinion research firm of Yankelovich, Skelly and White, and later started DYG, Inc. His remarks drew over 100 business and civic leaders to the breakfast forum.

In March 2006, CED released Private Enterprise, Public Trust: The State of Corporate America After Sarbanes-Oxley, a policy statement that examines the state of corporate governance in the United States and offers practical recommendations for restoring public trust in business. These recommendations include: making audit committees autonomous and vigorous; ensuring that users understand that financial information is based on judgments; giving Sarbanes-Oxley a chance to work; reducing excessive executive compensation and using independent nominating committees to select and appraise directors.

2006 Award Recipients

Neville Isdell
Chairman, Board of Directors, and CEO
The Coca-Cola Company